Ohio State’s CJ Stroud named finalist for Manning Award

Ohio State Quarterback CJ Stroud was named one of the 10 finalists on Friday for the Manning Award, which is presented annually to the best quarterback in college football and is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration a bowl candidate’s performance.

Stroud, a red-shirted freshman from Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., Threw for 3,862 yards and 38 touchdowns, down just five interceptions in his first season as a starter.

He has previously been named the Big Ten’s Offensive Player, Quarterback and Rookie of the Year, is a finalist for the Davey O’Brien Award, semi-finalist for the Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award and a favorite for the Heisman Trophy .

Other finalists for the Manning Award include Virginia’s Brennan armstrong, Ole Miss’ Matt Corral, Wake Forest Sam hartman, Pittsburgh Kenny pickett, Cincinnati Desmond Ridder, State of Mississippi Will rogers, from Nevada Carson strong, Alabama Bryce Young and western Kentucky Bailey Zappé.

In total, the group has accumulated nearly 40,000 passing yards and 353 touchdowns.

“There have been so many quarterbacks that have had exceptional seasons. They make this year’s Manning Award competition as open as I can remember, ”said Archie Manning, who – with the sons Peyton and Eli – founded the award in 2004. “It’s definitely a year where we’re very happy to have the opportunity to see how everyone is playing throughout the season – throughout the bowl games and the playoffs – before decide who will be the winner. “

An Ohio State quarterback never won the award, however Troy smith (2006), Terrelle Pryor (2010), Braxton miller (2012), JT Barrett (2014, 2016 and 2017), Dwayne Haskins (2018) and Justin champs (2019-20) were all finalists for the award.


Don’t forget to check out our new electronic bulletin boards, Buckeye Forums. We would love for you to join the conversation during the season.


You may also like:

Marcus Freeman’s first regular-season game as ND coach will be at Ohio State

Ohio State’s Stroud, Henderson and Burke named Shaun Alexander Award semi-finalists

Ohio State will face Utah or Oregon in the Rose Bowl in most bowl throws

Former Ohio State LB Marcus Freeman to be named Notre Dame head coach

2022 Utah QB Devin Brown commits to Ohio State

How Brown’s Engagement Affects Ohio State’s Recruiting Class of 2022


Make sure you stay locked in BuckeyesNow all the time!

Join the BuckeyesNow community!
Subscribe to the BuckeyesNow YouTube channel
Follow André on Twitter: @AndrewMLind
Follow BuckeyesNow on Twitter: @BuckeyesNowSI
Like and follow BuckeyesNow on Facebook!

Source link

Comments are closed.