Governor DeWine honorably renames three Ohio state parks ahead of Super Bowl LVI

COLLEGE CORNER, OHIO – Ohio Governor Mike DeWine and Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR) Director Mary Mertz on Wednesday, Feb. 9, temporarily renamed three Ohio state parks to honor current and past Super-Bowl-related Cincinnati Bengals players.

“We’re incredibly proud of the Bengals and everything they’ve accomplished this season,” Gov. DeWine said. “The whole state will be supporting Cincinnati on Sunday, and it’s a fun way to show your support for orange and black.”

Ahead of Super Bowl LVI on Sunday, Burr Oak State Park in Glouster will be called “Burrow Oak State Park” in honor of Bengals quarterback Joe Burrow, who grew up near Athens, in Ohio. If the Bengals top the Rams on Sunday, Burrow will become the first quarterback in history to win the Heisman Trophy, a national championship and the Super Bowl.

Evan McPherson, whose game-winning kicks in the AFC Divisional Playoffs and Conference Championship games helped send the Bengals to the Super Bowl, will be celebrated at Paint Creek State Park in Bainbridge with the nickname “Evan McPherson Extra Point Creek State Park”.

Hueston Woods State Park at College Corner will pay homage to legendary Bengals running back Ickey Woods. The park, now dubbed “Ickey Woods State Park”, is located in Preble County.

The three parks will each have updated signage put in place this week that will display the names of the celebration parks. When all signs are in place, the ODNR will announce the specific locations of each sign. Ohioans are encouraged to take photos with the signs and tag @GovMikeDeWine, @ohiodnr and @ohstateparks on social media.

Comments are closed.